Chicken dinner.

Here’s a quick post of my hearty dinner from a few nights ago where I had to use up some old potatoes and peppers.

On taking my chicken leg out from the freezer I waited a few hours until seasoning so that it would absorb the salt and pepper.

Prepare the potatoes by thinly slicing. Drizzle over some oil from the sundried tomato jar (yummy) or just use regular oil. Place on the top shelf of a hot 200 degree oven for about half an hour. Turn every 10 minutes or so. Cut the peppers in half, remove the seeds and drizzle with a little oil before also adding to the oven for about 15 minutes until a little soft but retain their crunchiness. Check that the chicken has cooked and serve. I filled my peppers with some basmati I had and drizzle over a little more of the sundried tomato oil. You could use seasoned couscous fluffed with vegetable stock which would be super tasty, and add in cheese or other small grains etc. All in all, this is a filling meal which is relatively cheap and easy to prepare.

*Amendment from November 27th 2012 – On reflection I think that it would have been better to brown the meat at a high temperature in a pan first for a few minutes to get some colour and flavour first before putting into the oven. That would probably make it look more appetising too.

One comment on “Chicken dinner.

  1. […] on from my chicken dinner post here, I decided to use the few leg bones to make some homemade chicken stock for the first time. After […]

Leave a Reply

