Red cabbage is cheap

I’m not really a big fan of cabbage really. It’s a bit bland and boring for my taste (surprising since I can eat plenty of raw vegetables without much flavour). But after my summer working on a vegetable plot, I learnt to appreciate cabbage a bit more. It is easy to cook and stores quite well I find, not to mention very cheap (thanks for the reminder mother). So this is the meal I made with it (warning: it doesn’t look like the most appetising thing but is certainly yummy and will fill you up!).

You will need:

– GIANT wholewheat couscous (one of the surprise amazon parcels from my mother when I mentioned that I could’t even find wholewheat couscous or pitta bread in the supermarket here!) It looks incredibly like food you would feed a fish or pet I think but tastes alright and is very healthy. However you do need to cook this couscous in a pan of boiling water for about 10 minutes because the couscous is larger and needs to soften (not as easy as the smaller regular kind where you don’t really need to switch on the cooker).

Giant couscous AKA fish food

-Bulgur wheat (Tesco wholefoods range is very good for substitute carbohydrate foods such as different pulses, grains and rices)

-Red cabbage and any other vegetables you fancy, plus a shallot for seasoning.

-Chicken stock

I also threw in a fried egg and two small chipolata sausages (I know these aren’t very healthy so are in my ‘infrequent eating’ category).

Prepare the vegetables first by chopping up the shallot finely and the cabbage and other vegetables however you wish.

Meanwhile warm a large pan up and drizzle some oil in. Once hot, add the shallots and gently fry for a few minutes before adding in the cabbage and pepper.

At this point I also poured in some chicken stock made from a Knorr’s stock cube and some hot water – about 150ml to stop the vegetables from burning and to add some flavour. Cover with a lid and allow to simmer until the cabbage is ‘deflated’ (I don’t know how else to describe it; not crunchy, flat?)

Whilst you are cooking the vegetables, you can cook the grainy carbohydrates to accompany. I chose a mix of the wholewheat couscous and bulgur wheat to add some interest and different textures as the couscous alone can be quite ‘wheaty’. It worked quite well because they both take a similar time to absorb the water. I added water roughly in a 3:1 ratio to the amount of ‘grain’ I had. Here’s a photo just to show what it looks like dry.

I also shoved the chipolatas into the oven for about 20 minutes at about 180 degrees + until brown and slightly crisp. Here was my finished breakfast: It was nice and filling and healthy at the same time which makes you and your tummy feel good!

P.S. Don’t those chipolata sausages look like X chromosomes or is it just me?

One comment on “Red cabbage is cheap

  1. […] up! I will be doing a post on this dish (hopefully soon as this was the same red cabbage from this post, I have just been very slow getting posts […]

Leave a Reply

