Potato Chips!

So I did a post recently here on my ‘Dinners of the Week’ where I featured these homemade potato ‘chips’ (even though they’re really just baked potato slices). I thought I’d just share this idea because they are extremely easy to make as long as you have an oven! I don’t think I’ve been taking full advantage of unlimited oven use in my student flat so here’s a way to do just that. I think they are also healthier than buying chips/wedges from the shop because they don’t have any added salt etc and you can customise them with cheese or herbs as you please too.

Potato ‘Chips’ 

– Any potato will do, I used early new potatoes (Charlotte) but roasting potatoes would be fine too

– Oil, any kind (although olive oil if you have it)

– Seasoning of choice, salt, dried herbs, cheese?

If you are using new potatoes you don’t even have to peel them, simply rub off their skins under running water (it doesn’t have to be perfect). Roasting potatoes will need proper peeling. Slice lengthways into slices of width of half  a centimetre or so. Drizzle with a little oil (I used sunflower) and season with a pinch of salt. Add dried herbs if you wish. (I would save the cheese until the potatoes are nearly done so they are crisp underneath)

Bake in a preheated oven at 180-200 degrees on the top shelf for a good 30-40 minutes.

Do turn them over a few times and move them around so that they get an even colour distribution.

 

 

They are ready when crisp and golden. Serve immediately (with ketchup on the side if you’re me).

 

One comment on “Potato Chips!

  1. […] my potato ‘chips’ are very yummy […]

Leave a Reply

