Banana and Walnut Loaf/Cake

So as a result of my poll a month or two ago about which recipe to try next, banana and walnut loaf received the most votes. I had actually tried out a different recipe of a banana and walnut loaf, however it didn’t turn out great thanks to my dumness in using unripe bananas and some lazy measuring… The Delia Smith recipe is worth trying if you like heavier fruit cake-type loaves, as it has cinammon (which I despise) and dark brown sugar and seems to last well. So after that attempt I hastily deleted my photos and tried another one. Although this one didn’t turn out too great either, but I thought I’d put off this post long enough and I should just get on with it. So here is the recipe for my second attempt.

I rather like this recipe. I searched for a non-butter loaf so my mother wouldn’t feel guilty about eating it and came across one which was sort of in between a cake and a bread loaf. So it is a little bland as it doesn’t have any fat and little sugar, but I think it has a nice fruity taste. So here goes.

Banana and Walnut Loaf, makes two small loaves

Preparation Time : 20 minutes

Baking Time : 40 minutes or so

 

– 300g self-raising flour (white)

– 70g brown sugar (although I used a combination of demerara and caster so it wouldn’t be so dense)

– 100g walnuts + (broken into pieces)

– 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

– 2 eggs

– 250ml milk

– 2 very ripe large bananas, mashed

– 1 tsp vanilla essence

 

First I cut up the bananas into a plastic bowl (so the fork wouldn’t scrape against it noisily) and used the fork to mash it up.

 

Then sift the flour and bicarbonate of soda into a large bowl. Add the rest of the dry ingredients (sugar and nuts) and stir around

Next crack the eggs one at a time, mixing in between. Pour in the milk and finally add the banana.

 

As you can see, at this point my mixture was rather runny. With hindsight I think I would have added a little more flour to firm it up a bit before pouring the mixture into the tins and baking. Bake at 180 degrees Celsius for 45 minutes until ready. Cool on a wire rack.

 

Consume.

One comment on “Banana and Walnut Loaf/Cake

Leave a Reply

