Omelette – The First Attempt

So I had never made or eaten an omelette before until about half an hour ago. Omelettes are great for quick snacks or accompaniments to meals because all you need are eggs and you can chuck in whatever takes your fancy. I thought I would make one because we have so many boxes of eggs thanks to the chickens at the farm I recently started working. I called this my first attempt because I know that there are lots of things I could improve on for next time, so here’s the slightly haphazard ‘recipe’ I used.

First I cracked two fresh eggs into a pyrex glass jug (I find these easier to pour into the pan as opposed to a regular bowl) and mixed. Season with salt and pepper to taste. If you have some herbs like chives or parsley or other herbs, now would be a good time to tear them up and mix with the egg. Heat up a medium sized pan (about 20-30cm in diameter) and add some olive oil. Make sure the pan is relatively hot before adding the eggs. Meanwhile prepare your filling. I used finely chopped peppers and some ham in mine, but any vegetables, meats, and cheeses work nicely too. (Maybe leave your favourite combinations in the comments below and I’ll be sure to try them out?)

Turn your pan down to a medium heat and pour in the eggs.Keep turning and mixing very gently (you don’t want it to become scrambled) every 10-20 seconds so that different parts of the omelette will cook. Obviously you don’t want liquid uncooked egg in the middle with your filling when you sit down to eat it. When about 2/3 of the egg is cooked, sprinkle on your filling of choice. Carefully use a spatula to ease off half the omelette and fold it over the other half so that your filling is sandwiched in between. The omelette should now be semi-circle shaped, cook for 4-5 minutes until ready and serve immediately.

I ate this for dinner with some toasted homemade soda bread baked lovingly by my mother and it made a delicious meal!

 

One comment on “Omelette – The First Attempt

  1. skyu33 says:

    I love the look of this omelette!

Leave a Reply

